top of page
  • Writer's pictureValorie

20 years

Updated: Oct 16, 2020


 

2040.


I will be 50 years old. Ronin will be 23, Shia will be 20.


We will have outgrown this house, we could be living anywhere, my boys will be socially conscious. They will be emotionally and psychologically strong enough.


They will be safe from you.


You once agreed with me that those who rape should serve a life sentence. From the several thousand "passing" talks one has with their spouse. You knew that I believe rapists serve no purpose in society and should be left to rot.



Not everyone agrees with my very strong statement.


Lucky you.


 

You will be in prison for a little over 20 years. You will have no part in my boy's childhood and upbringing. You can't stop us from leaving the country or state. I was fully prepared to move if you were going to get out before my boys were adults. Now I don't have to worry.


I am sure you will get all the therapy and mental healthy programs the county can muster up for your weak mind. But you will be away from us. Away from all you hurt and betrayed.



I heard the statements you said months ago. How you blamed a child for wanting to have sexual feelings for you, you even had the audacity to tell her that God wanted you to teach her about sex.


There are no words to express the anger and hatred I felt in that courtroom.

In my wildest dreams, I could never imagine anyone saying the things you've said, doing the things you've done. And at the end of the day you could still face me and your little boy. It's deplorable.


 

Thankfully, the judge saw that. Once he started comparing what you did to a homicide. I knew you were done for. He heard your lawyer say all sorts of things about how much progress you've made and how you have a sickness. All the while I stared at the judge and whispered "Think of my boys...". There is never just one victim. The judge saw the damage you caused and knew you had to pay. Only God can redeem you, and you seem to think he will but I have a hard time with that, I must confess. Maybe one day I will understand. Maybe even forgive you one day...


But for now, you are just a painful memory. An enigma. You are nobody's father. Nobody's lover. Nobody's best friend.


Maybe you will "heal" , I have no idea. But we will. We will all finally get over this. After over a year of torment, we can move on knowing that you won't join society again until 2040. The world will look extremely different from when you left it. Unrecognizable.




 

I will never forget when the victim of your cruelty stood in front of the judge and expressed how you changed her life. A young girl, who can't even drive yet, stood in front of a judge , strangers, families, and you. Her bravery shook me and I am nearly 30 years old. This young woman, finally the heroin of the story. It was a moment I will never forget. You will always be the antagonist of every story, even your sons. Their story is just being written, and you will have no part in it.


But we will be fine, no, we will thrive, we will rise, we will grow....without you.



366 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page