top of page
  • Writer's pictureValorie

Fall Festival and Corn Maze

October is one of my absolute favorite months of the year. This weekend we went to my sister's church all the way in King William for their Fall Festival.



When I asked Ronin what his favorite part of the day was he, of course, said firetruck. They had a firetrck, people.... Ronin was able to sit in it and got his very own fireman helmet. The fireman showed him all the buttons and compartments. Ronin was soaking it all in.



There was also a blow up slide, which Ronin loved scaling the huge slide with all the big kids. He had so much fun!


 

King William was so scenic and beautiful, but nothing compares to the drive through Goochland and Somerset. The day started with Ronin coming in my room at 6 am, so after only 4 hours of sleep that night, I knew it was going to be a rough start. It seems like I can plan every detail and anticipate every scenario, but something can and always will go awry.

We got to Liberty Mills Farm later than I wanted but at least the weather was PERFECT. I had been going to Liberty Mills for maybe 4 years and this time was the only time I didn't have to wear a tank top.


Most of my family joined us which is always a treat and a great time. There were lots of people to "wear" Shia because he was not handling that wagon. He was happy as can be in his carrier though; I've actually never seen him so pleasant being outside before. Ronin was living his best life riding in the wagon scarfing down every snack we had packed.




At the end of the corn maze, we all rode on a hayride. Ronin loved watching the tractor, we always ride front and center. However, I could have done without the INSANE amount of dust coming from the ground. I felt quite literally covered in sediment by the end of the trip.




I think my favorite part of Liberty Mills is the adorable kid's play area .It's roped off which is a huge plus, and has a giant haystack to climb! We got some amazing photos of Shia and Ronin in their matching Halloween shirts that Krissy got them. We truly love all things Halloweeny.










I realize that the older I become, the higher my anxiety is with things not in my control. I sometimes wonder if it is because, for so many years, I had somebody picking up the pieces that fell through the cracks, I had a partner that could take some of the slack. Now it's all on me. The health of my boys, their childhood, the house, money, keeping my "village" happy and content...it all falls on me now. I get frustrated very easily, lose patience, I have very high expectations, it's the price I have to pay for this more empowered and responsible "me". One day I'll find a good balance again, I'm starting to see the fabric of my life weave back together, but there's still a few more cracks to fill...



70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page