top of page
  • Writer's pictureValorie

Halloween Toddler Crafts


By now you should know that Halloween is one of my top favorite holidays. I have a totally new appreciation for it after being a momma! Every Friday morning, I found time to do a Halloween craft with Ronin while Shia was sleeping. This is the kind of stuff I wish I had more time to do!


I don't take credit for these ideas, I have a pinterest board of them.



This apple craft was a little bit advanced for him, it was hard for him to grip the apple just right. But it is a great craft to do with the leftover apples you picked.


I think these next two were my absolute favorite! Very easy to do and it looks so cool.








This next craft took some research. I learned that in order for the color to stick to the spaghetti, you had to add vinegar in the bag. Quite tedious, but it was a great way to pass a rainy day. Also I was hoping for a cute purple and got bloody grey...so this was the most gruesome of all the crafts. I even added yarn for "hair". Am I a psychopath? I dont know...

I was proud of Ronin for stepping out of his comfort zone and actually touching it. He would NOT put his feet in it though. Ill admit, its kind of gross-cool. Shia was not a fan...






What can I say , my boys are not into gross things.


Can we mommas, as a whole, ban slime forever? I was so excited to do this craft. I was looking forward to it the most! It was supposed to be monster slime with teeth and eyes. It was going to be awesome. I've never tried slime before and did so much research, but you guys. The universe just was not going to let me go through with this craft.



That baby jar is containing contact solution just FYI...



I threw a full tantrum because it wasn't happening and then God spoke to me through the face of my toddler like , "Sis, what are you teaching your kid... In the face of adversity, how would you want him to react?" So I explained to Ronin that I tried and this was just not going to work out. I didn't want to miss out on a curious impulse so we stuck our hands in the goo. Ronin immediately was grossed out and it made me laugh hysterically.


We went to the library after all of that...




It got me thinking though like, we see so many moms putting together perfect pinterest crafts and we feel guilty. Like how hard can it be? I had to ask myself, who is this craft really for...? The purpose of these crafts is to spend quality time with my toddler, learning and creating. Even if the project fails, the laughs and lessons are still present. I hope he learns that it's okay to make a mistake, it's okay to get frustrated, it's okay to fail.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page