top of page
  • Writer's pictureValorie

Reflections of 2019

You owe it to yourself to take a step back and reflect on all that has happened in the past year. Sometimes it felt like this year was dragging on, other times it’s like a flash. For me this year was all about struggling and pulling through. In the beginning of 2019, I was in the middle of a custody battle with a child molester, I had a handful of piano students and a mountain of financial responsibility set in front of me. I remember sitting with my family, intervention style, asking what my plan was. They wanted to make sure that I was making the right choice, keep my house or move back in with my family. I didn’t know what to do, common sense was telling me to move back in. Of course that would make the most financial sense. There were downsides too, like moving 3 people into a house with 3 adults and 2 teenagers is not at all ideal. However , neither was paying for a house you couldn’t afford and working constantly and neglecting your children. There was no right answer. That seemed to be the theme for the beginning of the year. "There was no right answer." I asked God every day, "what am I supposed to do? Adapt to a new lifestyle or try to make a new one with what little I had? "


Then God spoke to me, "when your back is against the wall and the odds are stacked against you, what do you do? You fight harder." It seemed like God was telling me “You already know what you have to do, I’ll stand with you , your feet are on the rock”

So I stuck my feet in the ground and worked every day to pay for the house. I had tremendous help, nobody achieves anything alone. I was very lucky to have support from the government as well as from family and strangers that helped me get my footing again. Every month, I was wondering how I was going to pay for my mortgage, and every month I did. I believe it was 100% God proving to me that this was possible. There were definitely some weeks where it felt like it was all going to slip through my grasp. It felt like I was doing the wrong thing for my boys, working as much as I was. But I knew that God had a plan, I just needed to find it. Every month, I applied and searched for online jobs that would give me some sense of security while also being at home with my boys.


Enter VIPKID. This job has given me so much in the short amount of time that I’ve been doing it. It’s awakened a new me and I look forward to the plans I have for my career.

The lifestyle I have now is insane, sometimes I forget to eat and I only get about 5 hours of sleep every day. But I’m going somewhere, I see my new life on the horizon and I want it.

2019 will be the year I had my second baby, supported my family with just my income, and started a new journey of online teaching. I am so pumped for what 2020 has in store, because your girl has big plans, you guys. Nobody is stopping me and I’m not done fighting.

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page